Parliamentarians announce 2019 National Responsible Business Champion award short-list

Jonathan Djanogly MP and Baroness Greengross, Co-Chairs of the All-Party Parliamentary Corporate Responsibility Group (APCRG) have today (2 July) announced the companies short-listed for its 2019 National Responsible Business Champion award. Read Cambridge News article 

In selecting companies for the national award shortlist, Parliamentarians looked for companies that are: supporting the local community; investing in healthy workplaces; offering apprenticeships and training; working to reduce their environmental impact; and working with suppliers & SMEs to support responsible business practice.

The winning company will be presented with the award at the APCRG’s Responsible Business Champions reception on 16 July in Parliament by the Corporate Responsibility Minister, Kelly Tolhurst MP. The APCRG Responsible Business Champions scheme is supported by Anglian Water.

Baroness Greengross said: “Every year the standard of nominations we receive from MPs gets better and better. It was very hard to long-list the companies for our award this year and all these companies have done very well indeed to make our short-list. Each of them thoroughly deserved the endorsement of their local MP as their Constituency Champion and I congratulate them all on the excellent work they are doing. These employers, and their employees, can be very proud of their record.”

Jonathan Djanogly MP said: “I am very pleased to see that we are continuing to receive nominations from MPs for the first time, which means that our scheme is becoming better understood within Parliament and securing the support of more and more MPs. We launched our Responsible Business Champions scheme in 2015 with the aim of encouraging MPs to look at how responsibly companies in their constituencies are operating and to celebrate with us the achievements of the best. It is an excellent way for MPs to encourage responsible business practice and we are delighted to have the support of the Corporate Responsibility Minister, Kelly Tolhurst, for our Responsible Business Champions scheme. We look forward to welcoming her – and Constituency Responsible Business Champions from across Britain – to our summer reception in July, when the Minister will present our National Responsible Business Champion award 2019 to the winner.”

Andy Brown, Head of Sustainability, Anglian Water, said: “As a company strongly committed to responsible business practice, Anglian Water is very pleased to support this award scheme. The criteria used by the Parliamentary judges to select the National Responsible Business Champion are demanding, requiring high standards from companies across all aspects of their work. These shortlisted companies are all doing great work and I look forward to learning which of them is selected as the APCRG’s 2019 National Responsible Business Champion.”

Constituency Responsible Business Champions short-listed for the RBC national award 2019:

Anthony A. Davies Ltd nominated by David T.C. Davies MP (Monmouth)
Budweiser Brewing Group (UK & I) nominated by Jessica Morden MP (Newport East)
Cambridge Precision Ltd nominated by Jonathan Djanogly MP (Huntington)
DTCC Wrexham nominated by Ian C. Lucas MP (Wrexham)
Invotra nominated by Jonathan Lord MP (Woking)
Manchester Airport Group nominated by Mike Kane MP (Wythenshawe and Sale East)
OGL Computer Services Group Ltd nominated by Mark Garnier MP (Wyre Forest)
SABIC UK Petrochemicals Ltd nominated by Alex Cunningham MP (Stockton North)
Standard Life Aberdeen plc nominated by Kirsty Blackman MP (Aberdeen North), Hannah Bardell MP (Livingston) and Joanna Cherry QC MP (Edinburgh South West).